SWGEmu Old Forums Archive

SWGEmu Old Forums Archive (http://archive.swgemu.com/forums//index.php)
-   Community News Archives (http://archive.swgemu.com/forums//forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Rubberbanding in a Box (http://archive.swgemu.com/forums//showthread.php?t=35374)

Serpentkaa 11-03-2009 11:46 AM

Rubberbanding in a Box
 
First off - many many thanks to the staff, community helpers, and community members that assisted so many players: TheAnswer, Ilipah, Ellysia, Shadow-Viper, GeForce, Isra, Shaydin, Mijom and many, many others.

UPDATED FOR CLARITY

NOTE1: About half the time, the Stand macro suggested in various threads will often put you IN the RB box. If you are simply rubberbanding or stuttering, do not use that macro. The Rubberband Box means you cannot move more than a meter or two before having to stop for a few seconds.

NOTE2: Do not logout in water. This is a surefire way to find the RubberBand Box.

Option 1: Do it Yourself
  • You need to go to a shuttleport not the starport (inching along at a pace that snails are laughing as they pass you up). You can do this by autorun and spam clicking your /stand button.
  • Buy a ticket to ANOTHER shuttleport on the same planet. Again do not use the starports. You can use outposts. (if your on lok but you are out of luck - take option 2)
  • Dump all macros on any game instance you have open.
  • Go prone you by the ticket collector while the shuttle is there.
  • Take the shuttle while prone.
  • Type /stand after you arrive.
  • If you are not fixed, repeat 2 times in a row.
You should arrive un-boxed at your destination. If this does not work after two times, do option #2.

Option #2: Go to #swgemusupport in IRC
  • You must have attempted Option #1 first.
  • Go into IRC #swgemusupport and request a GM unbox you. They will tell you what GM is on duty at the time. (Please do not randomly page a GM, there are other issues we are taking care of too.)
  • Dump your macros on all instances of the game
  • PM the specified GM with "I am Boxed" and go /prone
  • GM will summon you (this is a one way ticket to wherever the GM is - we will not return you to your former position. Do not ask for ports back or expect the GM to be located in a convenient spot for you)
  • Check to see if you are still stuck or rubberbanding.
  • Clear the area so the GM can see who to help next.
Extreme fixes #3
  • A GM decides if this is necessary after multiple failures in Option #2
  • You must be prone.
  • GM will @kill you then summon you. Do not clone.
  • GM @rez you.
  • You /stand.
  • Check to see if you are still stuck or rubberbanding.
  • Clear the area so the GM can see who to help next.

Serpentkaa 11-07-2009 01:23 AM

Updated

G'Kar 11-07-2009 02:18 AM

Good to know a fix is coming. Both my toons are stuck atm.

G'Kar 11-07-2009 02:46 AM

Server restart!

CronicJoeBlunt 11-07-2009 02:54 AM

If you go only in small steps at a time and wait a few mins between each movement you can actually get around, though it is a slow process

Repairit 11-07-2009 08:09 AM

A fix that I've been using is this:

Step 1)

Create a macro to loop /stand.

Macro name Stand
/stand;
/pause 1;
/macro stand;

Step 2: Head to your nearest Starport. And then travel to a shuttle inside the city and then back to the Starport.

(Ex: If you're in Coronet, activate your stand macro and buy a ticket to Shuttle A and then fly back from Shuttle A to the Starport.)


Note: I've been rubberbanded 4 times now, and this has worked everytime for me. Hope it works for others as well.

Enjoy.

Emokho 11-07-2009 08:42 AM

Seems to be hitting me everytime I go to Mos Eisly and nowhere else. Kinda sucks with the scattering of BH terms on Tatooine but the best way I've found to avoid or get around it sofar is not go to Eisly.

Repairit 11-07-2009 09:00 AM

Yeah same here, as well as in Coronet now.

Domikraus 11-07-2009 09:15 AM

Quote:

A fix that I've been using is this:

Step 1)

Create a macro to loop /stand.

Macro name Stand
/stand;
/pause 1;
/macro stand;

Step 2: Head to your nearest Starport. And then travel to a shuttle inside the city and then back to the Starport.

(Ex: If you're in Coronet, activate your stand macro and buy a ticket to Shuttle A and then fly back from Shuttle A to the Starport.)


Note: I've been rubberbanded 4 times now, and this has worked everytime for me. Hope it works for others as well.

Enjoy.
Works very good, thanks for that tip :lightsaber:

BriaFBI 11-07-2009 10:32 AM

Have to agree, this works like a charm...

Serpentkaa 11-07-2009 10:40 AM

Forgot to lock.

Serpentkaa 11-09-2009 05:50 PM

Updated for clarity.

Serpentkaa 11-10-2009 10:49 AM

Updated again. Prone now works.

dawingamond 11-11-2009 06:31 PM

I had two characters in a box and I just killed them with a third character. Worked like a charm when you don't have the option to try to travel via shuttle (was 2.5km away).

tango602 11-14-2009 05:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CronicJoeBlunt (Post 458418)
If you go only in small steps at a time and wait a few mins between each movement you can actually get around, though it is a slow process

yeah that works its what i have to do a lot


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All Contents Copyright 2004-2010, SWGEmu.